Roach, Roggenbuck, Howell, and Hewitt Earn D3Hoops All-West Region Honors

Roach, Roggenbuck, Howell, and Hewitt Earn D3Hoops All-West Region Honors

 Whitman Release/ Linfield Release l D3Hoops Release

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. --- Whitworth’s Kyle Roach, Linfield’s Dempsey Roggenbuck, and Whitman’s Tim Howell and Joey Hewitt have each earned All-West Region Honors. Roach landed on the All-West Region first team, while Howell and Hewitt garnered second and third team honors. Roggenbuck was named Rookie of the Year. 

Roach became the 12th player in Whitworth history to earn Northwest Conference Player of the Year recognition in 2018. A 6-5 G/F, Roach averaged a team-best 18.7 points per game this season, which ranked third in the NWC. Selected as the NWC's Player of the Week twice in 2017-18, on January 8th and on February 5th, he scored 45 points against top-ranked Whitman, the second-highest single-game total in school history to receive the honor. On February 3rd Roach became the 28th player in school history to surpass 1,000 career points and he currently has scored 1,143.

Howell and Hewitt led the Whitman attack during the season, combining (35.7 PPG) to average more than a third of Whitman's 97.8 PPG scoring average. Howell finished third in the conference with an 18.8 PPG mark with Hewitt averaging 16.9 PPG for fifth highest in the league. In the three years that Howell and Hewitt graced the court together, Whitman posted an overall record of 84-8 and a conference mark of 46-2.

Roggenbuck produced one of the most prolific debut seasons in Linfield men's basketball history. The Northwest Conference Freshman of the Year and honorable mention all-NWC selection, averaged a team-best 12.5 points per night while shooting 47 percent from the field. He saw time on the floor in all 25 games, starting 14. Roggenbuck recorded 22 steals while averaging two rebounds and one assist per game. 

Players were nominated for these awards by the Sports Information Directors at the various schools.

Player of the Year: Collin Olmscheid, Augsburg
Coach of the Year: Dale Wellman, Nebraska Wesleyan
Rookie of the Year: Dempsey Roggenbuck, Linfield


First team

Pos., Player, School, Yr., Hometown

G, CD Douglas , Minnesota-Morris , Sr. , Marshall, Minn 

G , Kyle Roach , Whitworth , Jr. , Marinwood, Calif. 

G , Michael Scarlett , Claremont-Mudd-Scripps , Sr. , Irvine, Calif. 

F , Kevin Grow , Carleton , Sr. , Circle Pines, Minn. 

F , Collin Olmscheid , Augsburg , Sr. , Buffalo, Minn. 


Second team

Pos., Player, School, Yr., Hometown

G , Tim Howell , Whitman , Sr. , Calabasas, Calif. 

G , Josh Ruggles , Loras , Jr. , Wheaton, Ill. 

G , Jimmy Wohrer , Puget Sound , Jr. , Redwood City, Calif. 

F , Sam Amsbaugh , Simpson , Sr. , Sheffield, Iowa 

F , Ryan Garver , Nebraska Wesleyan , Jr. , Lincoln, Neb. 


Third team

Pos., Player, School, Yr., Hometown

G , TJ Lake , Dubuque, Sr. , Peosta, Iowa 

G, Joey Hewitt, Whitman, Jr., Lafayette, Calif.

G , Nate Schimonitz , Nebraska Wesleyan , So., Omaha, Neb. 

F , Austin DeWitz , Occidental , Jr. , Oregon City, Ore. 

F , Sam Gabbard , UC Santa Cruz , Sr. , Vacaville, Calif. 

F , Tyler Weiss , St. John's , Sr. , Shakopee, Minn. 

There was a tie for the final spot on the third team.